I MINA'BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2006 (SECOND) Regular Session

Resolution No. 152(45)

Introduced by:

• • *

Ray Tenorio L.F. Kasperbauer <u>M. Cruz /11(</u>

Relative to recognizing the 108th Anniversary of the Proclamation of Independence of the Republic of the Philippines and congratulating the Filipino Community of Guam on their observance of the historic occasion.

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF I MINA'BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN:

WHEREAS, the observance of the Proclamation of Independence of the Republic of the Philippines is observed each year on the twelfth of June; and

WHEREAS, the Republic of the Philippines gained its independence through the sacrifice of many Filipino Heroes such as Dr. Jose Rizal, the National Hero of the Philippines, who wrote 'Noli Me Tangere' (The Lost Eden), which popularized independence sentiment and whose execution by the Spanish spawned public outrage and rebellion; Andres Bonifacio, who led the Cry of Balintawak; General Emelio Aguinaldo, who commanded the Battle of Binakayan; and Apolinario Mabini, known as the 'Sublime Paralytic' and the Brain of the Revolution; and,

WHEREAS, the fight for freedom was also supported by noted Filipinas such as Melchora Aquino, known as 'Tandang Sora', who was exiled by the to

11/11/30 M 11/21 fr

the Marianas by the Spanish Government after learning of her activities; Teresa Magbanua, a 28 year old teacher who was one of the first women to lead men in the battlefields; and other Filipina heroines from all walks of life who joined the Revolutionary Forces; and

•

WHEREAS, the culmination of the struggle for independence was on June 12, 1898, when General Emelio Aguinaldo declared the Philippines' independence at his hometown of Kawit, Cavite, where thousands of people from the provinces gathered to witness the historic event including the dramatic formal unfurling of the Philippine Flag at the same time as the Philippine National Anthem was played by a band, after which the 'Act of the Declaration of Independence' was solemnly read by its author Ambrosio Rianzares Bautista, who patterned it after the American Declaration of Independence; and,

WHEREAS, such declaration was adopted by the Assembly of Municipal Presidents and was ratified by the Congress of the Republic of the Philippines assembled in Malolos, Bulacan on September 1898 as an expression of the sovereign will of the Filipino people; and,

WHEREAS, the Filipino Community of Guam celebrates Philippine Independence annually with various activities such as: Wreath Laying at the Mabini Shrine located in the War at the Pacific National Park in Asan that commemorates 52 Filipino heroes including Apolinario Mabini who was

2

exiled to Guam from 1901 to 1903; and the Filipino Community of Guam's Philippine Independence Ball; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, that *I Mina'Bente Ocho Na Liheslaturan Guåhan* does hereby, on behalf of the people of Guam, recognizes the 108th Anniversary of the Proclamation of Independence of the Republic of the Philippines and further congratulates the Filipino Community of Guam on their festivities in observance of this significant occasion on June 17, 2006 during this year's Philippine Independence Ball at the LeoPalace Resort, Guam; and be it further

RESOLVED, that the Speaker certify, and the Legislative Secretary attest to, the adoption hereof and that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to Ms. Nita Baldovino, President, Filipino Community of Guam; to the Honorable Teresita Mendiola, Philippine Consulate General to Guam; and to the Honorable Felix P. Camacho, *I Maga'lahen Guåhan*.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED ON THE ____ DAY OF _____, 2006.

Mark Forbes Speaker Edward J.B. Calvo Senator and Legislative Secretary

Ray Tenorio Sponsor and Majority Leader